Whole30: Day 2

Well well well….the haze has finally set in.

I realized today at about 3 PM when I started feeling pretty hazy that withdrawals are beginning. I can’t really explain the feeling–but if I tried it kind of feels like someone took a fog machine and plugged it into my brain. I know it’ll pass though.

I’ll also say this diet is pretty much impossible to do if you don’t properly prep. Case and point: this morning when my dad came into my room while I was rushing to get ready for work–all frazzled with his iPad trying to reset his damn American Express password with some guy halfway across the world in tech support…we killed about 20 minutes of my, “cook bacon and do happy dance” time….or any time at all for a real breakfast. Thankfully, I had some eggs/kale salad leftovers I packed quickly. I also grabbed the entire jar of almond butter–bad idea. I am quickly forming a very dangerous love affair with this stuff. (it TASTES better than peanut butter….and peanut butter is sex to me.)

Starting tomorrow I’m gonna plan my daily meals a lot better.

I also got to stop at Whole Foods today…they have some really great (but expensive) organic stuff. I was able to get some organic dijon mustard, like 20 Larabars (google em…they taste like magic and are a quick snack godsend) and the biggest tub of almond butter you’ve ever seen. Carly’s new word of the week: “moderation”.

Also, I learned I love my mom ALOT–Cause on my drive home from Whole Foods I agreed to pick her up some ice cream since she hasn’t been feeling well. Maybe it was the haze I was in or the fact that I had to wait on a long line full of little obnoxious children with poor ice cream choices (seriously kid….who gets the Hulk ice cream bar?! First off… It doesn’t even look like the Hulk and the gumballs always disintegrate! And second your at a REAL ice cream place…thats like picking Dominoes over brick oven pizza. get on my level.) …but I was feeling stressed from the day. However, I didn’t cave- and after literally packing the ice cream in my back seat away from my grubby hands, the craving passed and I went home to cook up a turkey burger.

So far so good. Oh and last I’m SO THIRSTY. I think I drowned all my organs today in water.

-CM

——-

**Side note….my meals today were totally unorganized and I ate too many snacks. I’m working on this tomorrow.

Breakfast:

  • 5 slices of deli turkey
  • 1 tablespoon almond butter
  • 1/4 avocado

Mid morning snack

  • apple
  • 2 tablespoons almond butter

Lunch

  • 2.5 eggs, spinach and peppers cooked in coconut oil
  • kale salad with blueberries and olive oil with salt/pepper

Midday snack

  • handful of almonds
  • Larabar (Apple pie…they’re really small)

Dinner

  • turkey burger cooked with a little organic honey dijon, coconut oil, salt, pepper, and almond meal to bind it
  • small kale salad with blueberries, raw cole slaw and organic balsamic dressing

(By the end of dinner I gave my dog almost half of the turkey burger/what I couldn’t eat )

Leave a Reply

